Headline News By Administrator 320 Views

A Week In Toronto, ON, On A $105,000 Salary

Welcome to Money Diaries, where we're tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We're asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we're tracking every last dollar.

Attention, Canadians! We're featuring Money Diaries from across Canada on a regular basis, and we want to hear from you. Submit your Money Diary here.

Today: a marketing director working in advertising who makes $105,000 per year and spends some of her money this week on gingham Nikes for a birthday gift.

Occupation: Marketing Director

Industry: Advertising

Age: 30

Location: Toronto, ON

Salary: $105,000

Paycheque Amount (Biweekly): $2,975.43

Gender Identity: Woman

Monthly Expenses

Mortgage (Weekly): $504.15 (My husband and I used to pay $2,016.59 monthly but realized that switching to weekly payments cut three years off our mortgage.)

Car Payment: $597.22

Car Insurance: $128.48

RRSP: $1,500 (I'm trying to max out my contributions this year. So far, I have $14,154.42 in my RRSP.)

TFSA: $600 (I have $2,475.52 in my TFSA.)

Condo Fees: $478.99

Hydro: $80–$90

Gas: $150

Internet: $127

Dog Walker: $300 (We walk the dog in the morning and evening, but someone comes midday while we're at work.)

House Cleaner: $220

Netflix: $16.99

Annual Expenses

Home Insurance: $700

Property Tax: $3,800

Ski Membership: $1,300

FabFitFun Subscription: $330

Stitcher Premium App: $29.99

All of the above expenses, except my savings, ski membership, and subscriptions, are paid for out of a joint account. My husband makes twice what I do, so each month I put in $1,250 and he puts in $3,550.